Posted by: Nice Melons | June 15, 2009

Itchy skin remedy

Well, I’ve come into summer as usual, with irritated skin. Arrrgh! This summer has been a trial, especially with all the weird weather and allergic crap floating around here. My skin suffers.

But wait!

Since I’ve been somewhat hobbled as well by a broken ankle (long story), I’ve concocted a bitchen facial treatment for gals and guys, too, that suffer from allergies or just plain irritation from shaving stuff.

OK, here goes.

Sheila’s Calming Face Mask (can also be used as a cleanser)

  • 1 single serving (about 8 ounces) Greek yogurt – preferably goat’s milk yogurt
  • 1/4 cup minced or pulverized cucumber (more if you’re REALLY itchy)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon wheat germ (if you’ve got dry skin, substitute finely grated carrot)
  • 1 teaspoon lemon or lime juice, if and ONLY IF you are prone to breakouts – otherwise, skip it.

Mix everything up in a bowl.  Be prepared to save some for later.  I’ve stored this stuff for almost a month with no issues.  After mixing, chill in the refrigerator for maximum relief.  Spread on face, neck or anything that needs help (ahem).  Leave on until nearly dry, then wipe off with a damp washcloth or wash area with tepid water.

I’m still working on my moisturizers and other stuff, so stay tuned.  Best bet for a toner for me?  Just good old fashioned witch hazel with a twist – a little chamomile anddandelion root thrown in for good measure.  Easy-cheesy.   In regards to the ready-made stuff, all I know is that I cannot use anything except the Kerstin Florian line without major skin reactions, and frankly, I can’t afford her shit.  Why bother when I can figure it out for myself?  Sheeeeesh!

More to come…


Responses

  1. I got a few tiny patches of what I think must have been posion oak a couple weeks ago. I know to avoid it myself, but I think it must have gotten onto the dogs and then, unwittingly, me. Not a major area, but a couple quite small ones, so I’d had the largest covered up and medicated — it was itchy! I could have used this a litle over a week ago!

  2. …And if you don’t use it all as a cleanser or mask, it sounds like a pretty good late-night snack.

    How ya been? Except for the ankle, which sucks.

  3. Ha! Yah, it’s edible… part of the fun, TE.

    Damn, I’ve been OK, just busy busy. Work is awesome, love is awesome. Gotta post some pix of where my man and I are gonna get married.

    Thanks for stopping by! XOXO


Leave a Reply

Categories

