Posted by: Nice Melons | January 17, 2009

On getting it right…

Well, I think I’m finally heading in the right direction.

  • Awesome job, check.
  • Better health, physically and mentally, check.
  • Inner peace and happiness, check.
  • Love, well… big ol’ check.

Well, it has happened, my peeps.  I was so surprised a few nights back while out to dinner with my sweetie.  He asked me to marry him and gave me his mother’s ring.  We’re going shopping tomorrow for one of my own…  I’m not dead set on a diamond, but he is insistent.  Her ring is fine, as far as I’m concerned… but he’s got other ideas!

It’s so soon.  We’ve only been really dating for a few months, but he’s been pursuing me for quite some time.  We were friends first, for a good while.  Then I thought I’d have to end things around Christmas because, quite frankly, I was freaking out and destroying my life.  I am so glad I gave him another chance… and a chance to be with someone who truly loves me for who I am with ALL my flaws.  I’ve told him things that I’ve never told anyone – or been reluctant to share – and he isn’t even fazed.  What a find.  Yes, he has his flaws as well – who doesn’t – and one is that he is very protective of me.  It’s not a jealous thing, though, and I’m glad.  I’ve never had someone who wanted to take care of me like that.  He’s helpful, he’s kind, he’s funny, he’s an animal lover, and he’s pretty damn sexy to boot.  He takes care of me when I don’t feel well.  I do the same for him.  We’ve got a lot in common with our upbringings, which is also a good thing… we have similar issues that we work through and continue to work on.  In short, I think he’s a perfect life partner for me.

In March, we’ll be moving into a house together.  This is the house he grew up in, and I love it… especially the KITCHEN!  Woot!  I’ll have a huge backyard, and a dedicated space for yoga, music, and what have you.  In short, the house is DA BOMB!  It’s a little further from work than I’d like – I’d prefer to live downtown – but it’s got everything I need and only about a half-hour drive from work.  He’s a homebody, too.  He loves working in the yard andgrowing things.  He planted the backyard for his mother and we’re going to revamp it a little so I can have my veggie and herb garden an a koi pond for the kittehs!  Yay!  It’s just the type of place that I’d love coming home to, especially with him there.  🙂  It’s sickening, no?

Plus… he’s a freaking cynic and punster and I love that!  We are truly right for another, and I am so very happy that I gave us another chance.

When are we getting married?  Well, hell… who knows?  I was never the type to be into marriage or plan weddings, but all I can say is that I never thought it would happen for me… so I’m not in a big hurry.  I’m still reveling in us.  That’s enough for me.  Hopefully we’ll have the yard together enough in the next few years to get married there, although I’d like to get married up in Oak Creek Canyon in front of Grant Wolf’s memorial bench.  He’d approve, I think.  The real engagement party will be where we met – at The Lost Leaf in downtown Phoenix.


Responses

  1. Congratulations, NM!

    I’m happy for you — I hope it works out for you both.

  2. Me too… I’m optimistic since we share a lot of stuff. He’s awesome. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Oh crap, girl! I step away from my blog peeps for a while and off they go getting all engaged and shit. First the UU Deist in Texas,and now you.

    Big congratulations to you! I wish you all the happiness in the world.

  4. I’ve had permagrin for you since I read your news. Very happy for you Melon Girl. So very happy for you. Big, big, B I G hugs to you. muah, muah, muah!

  5. Congratz!


Leave a Reply

Categories

