Posted by: Nice Melons | January 7, 2009

On being a big ol’ dork!!!

Well, it’s been another long day at Schwab, but an amusing one. I do love my job and the people I work with. That is so awesome that I can’t even begin to tell you how good that feels! After being in “public service” for nearly three years, it’s so very nice to feel like that I am making a difference daily. What I do makes a big impact, and I never thought I’d get that in the private sector.

I love the relationships that I have with my independent advisers. They are pretty much awesome and laid-back. I represent SoCal, and a lot of the end-clients are in the movie and entertainment industries. This is super-cool! The funny thing is that I worked – one way or another – in those same industries for many years. So I can relate.

One client in particular is super awesome. I work with several advisers at that firm and they already have an tremendous trust with me, which feels so neat. I am on the phone a LOT, which is fun, since I love yakking about stuff. I know about their kids, I know about their recent health issues, etc… and we joke about it all the time! Today one of my advisors called me with a distribution question after we chatted for about 20 minutes about her daughter’s baking conquests and shared recipes. I am an avid cook and baker so I sent her about 20 different recipes to try. I love this job! I can’t believe how well-suited I am to this. It’s all about the relationships… and even though my Mom was laid off, I feel so good about my role here that I am comfortable in my own skin for the first time since I left the music business.

Another advisor calls and asked me how I was doing today, and I told him I was a little gassy. He thought that was hilarious and had several ideas about how to utilize that particular condition… Muwhahaha! Several came from his own experience. Love it!

Anyway, it’s so funny that I’m able to connect with people that I’ve never even met face-to-face… well, maybe not so much since I blog, but… it’s just funny how these relationships have taken shape. I am truly blessed to have a job like this. I know, I know… BORING! But it’s been a long time coming.

…and now, a kitteh!!!!

funny pictures of cats with captions
more animals

No kidding, huh?


Responses

  1. It’s so great you love this new job and actually feel like you accomplish something!

    Jealousy of you, I haz it!!

  2. Jajajaja! I love my job. It’s just amazing. Let me tell you, it’s been a long road to get there… it really keeps me on my toes, too, which I love. I am learning something new every day. I just never thought I’d love talking on the phone so much! I have such great relationships with my advisors and co-workers. It’s just amazing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

