Posted by: Nice Melons | July 21, 2008

Yodel-ay-hee-hoo!

I’m baaaack!

Things are looking up a bit. My little pity-party last week didn’t last long. It started lifting during Thursday afternoon’s late lunch where we ate Chinese food and subsequently opened fortune cookies. Of course, we had to read ours out loud and add the obligatory “in bed” line to the end of every single one. This is what mine said:

You will be rewarded for your kindness to others (in bed).

Well, as you can imagine, that provoked a lot of laughter from my co-workers… and I am being amply rewarded at the moment, so I must be doing something right.  😛

On another note, I’ve learned that I’m being TRANSFERRED to a special assignment for my job. WTF??? I guess this falls under that “other duties as assigned” murky area that is in my job description. Huh. The only problem is that it’s about 8 miles from my house. Now, that doesn’t sound like a big deal, but since my current commute is less than a mile – and free, I might add – I am kind of pissed off about that. I usually hop on the free downtown shuttle, walk, or pogostick. I occasionally drive when I have to leave for yoga class directly after work, but for the most part, I want to save both the environment and my wallet. Whooo boy.

cat
more cat pictures

^This is going to happen to me when I start at the other location. I’m so used being able to get here in five minutes, now I’m going to have to get up even earlier, so I’m destined to leave sans pants at some point. I am NOT a morning person. EVER.

So, anyway… I get to do this because I am competent, I guess. Man, I really wish I could eff things up a whole lot more, then no one would make me do special assignments. What in the taco bell hell is going on, anyway? Someone pinch me, I think I’ve slipped off into a work-induced coma again.

… and now for my favorite fortune cookie saying of all time. It came from a fortune cookie I got in Oakland’s Chinatown. You don’t need to add the “in bed” line to this one.

You will have many fans…
All electric.

Well, break is over, so I’ve got to get back to it.  Melon Girl OAO.


Responses

  1. Welcome back. 🙂

    Despite the increased commute (and even at 8 miles I am very jealous), sometimes a change in scenery and routine is a good thing. Right now I would give my left ovary for a change in routine.

    Anyone need a left ovary?

  2. Nah, no ovaries needed here. What we need is the BART.

    We’ve got light rail due to go online sometime this year, but it doesn’t anywhere that anyone wants to – except to the sports arenas. Phoenix has terrible problem with sprawl, and there were ZERO considerations for those folks in those areas – and these are the ones who are clogging up the freeways. D’OH!

    ADOT planning at it’s finest. Heh.

  3. BART? Are there Bay Area peoples up in here? W00t!

  4. Bay Area is the house! Woot, right backatcha!

  5. I am a former Bay Area person. I lived there from 1997-2003-ish. I was back and forth between there and LA 2000-2003. Woot-Woot!

  6. I call the Bay Area home although I’ve only visited there — have you ever gotten off the plane in an unfamiliar city and known you were home? That’s me and SF. Unfortunately, I haven’t been home in years.

    I feel your pain about the commute. I work from my bedroom now, with no light rail and (thanks, GWB) expensive gas. It would bum me out a bit, too.

    I’m glad you’re back! Be kind to others! In bed.

  7. I’ve got no worries about being kind to others in bed… hehehehe… 😛

    Yeah, the commute, while not *that* far by others’ standards, blows. One of the reasons I moved down here was to be able to walk to work. Since the ‘hood is now going to hell in a handbasket, I think of moving anyway… but won’t be able to afford it for awhile. *sigh*

    I did love the Bay Area, but… I had to work so hard all the time to be able to afford to live there, I never got a chance to get out and enjoy the area. Rats!


Leave a Reply

Categories

