Posted by: Nice Melons | June 24, 2008

Resonance

I’m back from Oak Creek Canyon… and I feel oh so much better now, thank you.  I wish I could live up there.  I had my time in the creek, which I love.  I did some sun salutations on the red rocks.  I took some more pictures, which I’ll post later today.  I had time to meditate and do some work on the melon (and more importantly, the melon heart) and came back to the Valley of the Stunned (er… Sun) feeling renewed, refreshed, and refocused (instead of Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered).  I feel like a big ol’ bell was rung in the core of my heart, and it’s still resonating.

I also learned a new song – well, new to me, anyway – while I was up there.  I can kind of accompany myself in a half-assed way on the piano, but I’ve got to get cracking on my demo CD while there is nothing else to do (musically, anyway) in Phoenix.  Summer tends to be quite dead around here.  For those who are just tuning in to this broadcast (hee), I have two degrees in music performance on the French horn… but I also sing.  I did that for “fun” in college, and apparently I’m pretty good at it.  I’m taking private lessons again.  It’s been a fun way to get my musical ya-yas out. 

So, here are the lyrics.  Several have recorded this tune, including Rosemary Clooney, Connee Boswell, Tony Bennett, etc… but my favorite is Ella Fitzgerald.  She’s pretty much my favorite across the board. 

I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
Written by Irving Mills, Henry Nemo, John Redmond, and Duke Ellington

I let a song go out of my heart
It was the sweetest melody
I know I lost heaven ’cause you were the song

Since you and I have drifted apart
Life doesn’t mean a thing to me
Please come back, sweet music, I know I was wrong

Am I too late to make amends?
You know that we were meant to be more than just friends, just friends

I let a song go out of my heart
Believe me, darlin’, when I say
I won’t know sweet music until you return some day

I let a song go out of my heart
Believe me, darlin’, when I say
I won’t know sweet music until you return some day

 So… it was a very good trip.  I feel like my heart is whole (instead of hole-y) again.  Ya ya ya!!!


Responses

  1. I, for one, am glad you are back and feeling better than ever! I miss you when you leave me 😦

    Ella FTW!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

