Posted by: Nice Melons | May 7, 2008

Economic stimulus, my a**!

 It’s obvious our economy is in a slowdown. Fortunately, we recognized the signs early and took action. I signed an economic growth package that will provide tax rebates to millions of American families and workers to boost consumer spending.  – ‘President’ George W. Bush 

 *Sigh*

Yeah, right, George.  I guess it’s better than the kick in the pants you’ve delivered to us so far.  But let me just have a little ranty-poo here for a little moment.

*FLAME ON*

Economic stimulus?  HA HA HA HA!  *Aneurysm*

Holy crap, let’s call it what it is…  an offset for the ever-increasing fuel prices, utilities, food, and, well, the cost of EVERYTHING.  It seems that the utilities, food, and other goods are going up because it costs way more to get stuff here.  Diesel is aver $4.00 a gallon now here in AZ.  Regular unleaded gas is creeping up to $3.50 a gallon.  I drive a Honda, and it now costs over $50.00 to fill up my car.  Mind you, I WALK TO WORK.  I try not to contribute to the environmental meltdown any more than I have to… and don’t EVEN get me started on the war OR the housing crisis.  Yeah, he’s made a mess of it during his tenure, so don’t let the door hit you on the ass on your way out, OK?

To add insult to injury, it’s State Employee Appreciation Day!!  I got to wear jeans today as a “thank you.”  Well, we usually have the option to do this on Wednesdays anyway.  Gee, thanks!  I’m not a “rank and file” employee, so to speak… more a mid-level peon.  Ha ha!  Still, I work up here on the same floor as the Director… so it’s better than grinding away in another location.  However, something really pissed me off (in addition to all the other stuff) today when I got to work.  The Director was hosting a big fancy breakfast for the Executive Staff.  Now, keep in mind that a lot of the Executive Staff is made up of political appointees… and they make a helluva lot more money than the rest of us.  Sure, when the current administration ends, some folks will be out of a job, but many return to work as consultants for even more money… while we continue to do all the actual work and keep them from stepping on their dicks in regards to the law.  But they get fed well, although most state workers can barely afford to keep their heads above water financially and often pick up a second job, and I’m no exception. I’m just concerned that if I start burning the candle at both ends again, I’ll undo all the good I’ve done for my body and plunge into another round of RA and FMS.  Dammit.

So, I’m not feeling much love right now.   If someone at the State wants to appreciate me, buy me a bagel or something, for goodness sakes.  I am pretty hungry this AM.

 *FLAME OFF*

Now I’m going to try to smile while my stomach growls.  😛

 


Responses

  1. I hear ya sister! I mean, I’ll be using my stimulus check to pay the bills that didn’t get paid when I had to pay my tax bill. Stimulate this, Georgie Porgie.

    Here in the Bay Area most gas stations are charging about $3.95 or so for gas. However, last night I went through Marin to go to Spirit Rock, and on that side of the bay, several of the stations were now at the $4.00 a gallon mark.

    I’m usually not one for free floating anxiety about the state of our nation, our world. But lately . . . sometimes it’s hard to catch my breath with how dire it all feels.

  2. I spent all of last year unemployed, so no stimulus check for me. I’ve fallen so far off GWB’s radar, he wouldn’t even think of me in the same tax bracket as his charming mommy’s domestics.

    I’m beginning to wonder if we can survive until January with this schmuck.

  3. LB, sounds like Marin is the same story as it was before – I played in the Marin Symphony for a while and had to make sure I had plenty of gas because I did NOT want to buy gas over there… and dodge all the giant SUVs in my little Honda. Look out! Heehee. I also remember when gas went over $2.00 a gallon in the Bay Area and how that seemed like a huge thing at the time… and that was not that long ago.

    Tigereye, I know what you mean. It seems that the people who really need the stimulus the most are being screwed. I mean, what about the other seven years those not in Georgie’s tax bracket were *bleep*ed out of a bunch of cashola? I mean, hell, we would have probably been a little better off if we had just burned it. At least it would have generated a little heat (but who knows the environmental impact of burning money – we should ask Dicky C since it seems to be a specialty of his). It’s too little, too late as far as I’m concerned. ARRRRRGH!!!

  4. Amen! No way I could have said it better myself.

    Diesel’s $4.30 a gallon here and today I filled up with the cheapest gas I could find at #3.91 a gallon. Well, I didn’t exactly fill up because I drive an Impala and I don’t get paid until Friday. So I couldn’t afford it. However that nice $600 bucks GW is sending our way oping we spend it on frivolous items is going into the savings account. So bite on that, George.

    Wait, there is a State Employee Appreciation Day?! Is there a Federal Employee Appreciation Day, because i need to know this now! Maybe I can get a piece of cake or something out of it.

  5. Heh… well, I’m using my $600 to pay for all the essentials I had to put on my credit card this year (like food) since I had to pay my bill to the IRS.

    What is frustrating to me is that those who received refunds through direct deposit get their “stimulus” check two to six months before those who owed this year. All of us that sent in our payments have to wait a loooooooong time. Ironic, huh? Hell, I haven’t had a refund since the 2000 tax year… and since George hadn’t been around to do enough damage yet, he can’t claim any kudos for that one. I wouldn’t give them to him, anyway. 😛

    Somehow, I find it interesting that the IRS couldn’t get these checks out a lot faster. They do seem able to get a hold of the contents of your bank account or paycheck fast enough if they want to.

    As for the State Employee Appreciation Day, well, our Governor issued a proclamation to make it so. I think it had something to do with boosting morale. Uhhh… it’s more along the lines of “the beatings will continue until morale improves. Meanwhile, try to do your job as your agency infrastructure falls apart.”

    You may have more luck (and funding) for cake at the Federal level, though. Good luck with that. 😉

  6. Oooo, I won’t mention I had my refund direct deposited this year (the first time ever) and giggled a little when I found out the paper checks weren’t coming until like June. This is only because my partner at work is getting his in the mail and I’m sorta evil in taking pleasure from others pain.

    “the beatings will continue until morale improves. Meanwhile, try to do your job as your agency infrastructure falls apart.” Ooo, it’s like that on the Federal level too! I work in law enforcement on the Fed level so nothing good ever comes our way. Our old building was condemned two years before I got here in 2002, but we stayed in there until 06 because “don’t you know there’s a war going on and we don’t have the money to get you a new building”! They think we’re crazy to wnat to not have the possibility of an earthquake coming along and trapping us all in that death trap where the hallway leaked when it rained and all but one of the toilets didn’t work! And even our new building is falling apart, it used to be an old schoolhouse and they just started clearing out the asbestos in the walls. But, they did give us a 59, which means they let us go home 59 minutes early one day a few months ago because we all do such a “great job!” They’d get further with cake. Or brownies. Brownies are delicious, too

  7. That’s OK about the evil pleasures… you have to take these when and where you can get them…

    Oh… brownies would be pretty cool, I concur.

  8. Yeah, and those little checks we get?
    A one time event.
    But the costs spiraling upward?
    You know that’s forever.

  9. That’s what makes me completely ill and wish that inter-planetary travel was a reality. I always felt that I was just visiting this planet, anyway.

    I would form my own country if I could, but I don’t necessarily want to be in charge… I’m all for anarchy. 🙂

    What should I call it? Melonland?


Leave a Reply

Categories

