Posted by: Nice Melons | May 5, 2008

Listening to Zappa at work is very dangerous, part II

Well, now I’ve done it (again!!!). This time it was Zoot Allures that got me in trouble.  You’d think I would know better by now, but I’ll never learn.   Or, maybe I’m just a glutton for punishment.  Hey, you’ve got to get your kicks where you can while you’re working in the public sector.  We rarely have that opportunity here.

Hey now, better make a decision
Be a moron and keep your position
You oughta know now all your education
Won’t help you no-how, you’re gonna . . .

Wind up workin’ in a gas station
Wind up workin’ in a gas station
Wind up workin’ in a gas station
Wind up workin’ in a gas station

– Frank Zappa, Zoot Allures, “Wind Up Workin’ in a Gas Station”

You can probably imagine why I raised a few eyebrows with these lyrics.  Heh heh heh…  but my boss thought it was pretty funny.  Who says government employees don’t have a sense of humor? 

 


Responses

  1. OK, listening to Zappa at work is one thing, but singing along is entirely another.

  2. Yeah, well, I’ve got to get my ya-yas out somehow. They won’t let me pogostick at work.

  3. “Hey, you’ve got to get your kicks where you can while you’re working in the public sector. ”

    Yepyep. I tend to blast the music and dance in the car when I’m at work. And if I have a partner, I sure as hell sign loud and proud. Becuase I get bored very easily and SOMETHING needs to keep me entertained

  4. Ugh, sing. Not sign. Sorry 🙂

  5. Hey there! Thanks for stopping by.

    I “sign” at people when I’m at my car… usually the hidden finger, but some get the visible finger. Not very enlightened of me, I know, but neither are most of the freakin’ drivers in Phoenix. So, I guess I can get behind signing OR singing. Hehehe…

  6. Ha, I tend to sign, too. It must have been a Freudian slip. Of course, it’s probably not best to be on duty and sign at people in an obvious unmarked government car, right? Not that it’s ever stopped me before…

  7. How very nice of Frank Zappa to dedicate a song to me!

  8. Now, now, Anners… you are imminently more employable than anyone I “work” with. Heh. 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

