Posted by: Nice Melons | April 21, 2008

Bathing in hand sanitizer

Here’s something I don’t get. Why do some people feel the need to come to work when they are sick and then infect the rest of us? I’m not a germaphobe by any stretch of the imagination (my dust bunnies are about the size of Cleveland, OH), but even I have my limits.


see more funny political pictures

So here’s the deal. I’ve been working for the State for about 3 years now. Every 2 weeks at the end of the pay period, I accrue 3.4 hours of Sick Leave and 3.4 hours of Annual Leave. When I’m sick, I stay home. I don’t have much leave accumulated since, well… I’ve only been here a little while. 

Without fail, the people who come into work sick and share their germs are those folks who have been here the longest and have YEARS of accumulated leave at this point. I don’t know what it is about that… do they truly believe that the government wheels will grind to a halt if they don’t come to work? It’s really frustrating. I mean, it’s one thing to be dedicated to your job – and it is admirable, I suppose – but if your germs take out an entire department of a State agency, well… DUH! Now were talking about a serious problem.

Three people had their weekend ruined and are still sick. I’m not feeling so great, but I’m hoping that the extra-hot bath I took last night confused my body into thinking that it already got sick. It usually works… but I am still a little paranoid about any kind of virus, since that is what started my chronic pain (RA/FMS/CFS) issues a few years back. Viruses are insidious… and make me think twice about books like The Stand.


Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you’re illin’. I hope it merely brushes by you and doesn’t take up residence in your respiratory system.

    I don’t get it either why people choose to come into work when they are sick. Sure, some people don’t get sick time, or perhaps work is less taxing than being at home. Who the freak knows. I work for a health care organization (though not around the actual patients) and you would think people would know better. But, noooooooooo. And that is why during cold and flu season I pretty much lock myself in my office and when I do come out I try and not touch anything.

    Take it easy. Feel better.

  2. NM, I hope you feel better, too.

    And I have a possible explanation for why long-term employees are reluctant to use or cash in their sick time. Much as it is better if they use it as needed, some state systems allow them to use accrued sick time toward eventual retirement or pension benefits. Meaning they can retire that many days earlier or cash them in for their pension or whatever — they don’t just lose them when they leave.

    So it becomes, in their minds, a kind of savings acount — and they don’t want to withdraw. A certain miserly sort would rather grind it out now and play later.

    I’m not agreeing with it, mind you. Or saying it’s okay — like you, I wish they would stay home & convalesce.

    I hope you get through it okay.

  3. Yeah, I understand that explanation, but it still sucks.

    There is a maximum number of that they can carry over every year (use or lose), and these same folks whine about not being able to keep those hours – or cash them in.

    I just can’t win on this one, which is just one of the many reasons I want to get my fanny out of here…

  4. which is just one of the many reasons I want to get my fanny out of here…

    Does the pogostick have baskets?
    Maybe the dirndls have big pockets?

    Seriously, good luck on the job search, if you go that route–in any conveyance.

  5. No basket on the pogostick – sheesh, it would just bounce right out again! But the dirndl has pockets… unfortunately, my ass won’t fit in there.

    😛

  6. You’re right — any basket would need a secure lid, wouldn’t it?

    So it sounds like its time to clear off your desk and empty your personal stuff from the drawers, fill a backpack and pogo off to new adventures.

    I don’t know why, but somehow in my imagination the whole scene has a “Sound of Music” glee to it.

  7. You picked up on that too, huh? Well, I wasn’t going to yodel Lonely Goatherd, that’s for damn sure. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

