Posted by: Nice Melons | April 10, 2008

Making a deposit in the karma bank?

“Be the change you wish to see.”

Mahatma Gandhi

Well, actually, that quote is truncated a bit.  The whole quote is:

You must be the change you wish to see in the world.

Since a lot of us are working long hours here, we’re allowed to dress down in jeans and shirts.  Of course, since I have to be the performing monkey from time-to-time with the circus, I’ve got to wear a monkey suit (in other words, I have to put on my grown-up clothes, including stockings and heels, arrgh).

However, I kind of broke my own rule today and went casual.  I have a t-shirt with the first (truncated) quote on it… so I wore it.  I’m not sure if it sunk in to anyone’s gray matter, but I felt good about it.  😀

 


Responses

  1. Good for you! We never really know what impact our little actions make, but if we do them with good intention, we do get to make a small deposit in the ol’ merit bank.

    But who knows, maybe someone on the street or in your office read your shirt, and later said to a friend or loved one, “hey, I saw this cool quote from Ghandi on a t-shirt today and it got me thinking . . . ” Maybe that person will simply do some random kindness, or maybe they’ll run off to Africa and help children who have been orphaned by the AIDS epidemic. Who knows, ya know?

  2. I agree with LB. Good quote, too.

    The only good thing about the monkeysuit, however, is how happy it makes you feel to be back in jeans, yeah?

  3. Hello all.

    LB, yes, if just one person makes a positive change because they read my shirt, awesome. I am still enough of an idealist to think that could happen.

    OB, no kidding. I was actually thinking more along the lines of catapulting it over a wall at the end of each wearing but that would get expensive. I have deliberately removed one suit from the rotation… every time I wore it, the director would call me “Senator.” Not only did this make me very uneasy, it was also nauseating. I’ve already got enough trouble keeping my lunch where it’s supposed to be as it is. Muwhahaha!

  4. Oh, this is too much. First, we have LazyBuddhist changing her avatar to a Blue Meanie, ala Yellow Submarine, and now we have you in a suit as Senator Nice Melons.

    must, exercise, restraint …

  5. Uh, that would be Senator Melons to you, bub. I’m not really that nice when I’m playing “government.” 😛

  6. Duly noted. FWIW, “Senator Scrappings” could have an even more ominous note to it. Remember, when you inform them of the name, don’t smile.
    Deadpan eye contact, of course.
    After that, you only need click your heels if you want to add that edge of fear to their eyes. 😉

  7. Ah! Now we see the violence inherent in the system!


Leave a Reply

Categories

