Posted by: Nice Melons | April 10, 2008

Drippings from my psyche

So, another thing… I’ve fought sleep dysfunction for years… since I was a little tyke.  Sleepwalking, vivid (and reoccuring) nightmares, blah blah blah.  I got myself out of the sleepwalk thing and everything else, but weird sh*t will crop up in my noggin from time-to-time. 

It got pretty interesting after I learned lucid/ cognitive dreaming (where you are in control), because you can change the outcome of what is happening to you.  However, I am so damn twitterpated right now that I am not thinking straight.

So I created this poem years before…. and now it shows up in my dreams.  I put it in the post so folks will understand how truly nuts I am.  Heh.  I had to write it down there in hopes that I can purge it and finally get some sleep!

Beneath a raw shadow
Sleeps a dark forest
Beating of hot, bitter rust.

I’m not sure where that came from, or if it is going anywhere.  All I know is that I need a brain dump and I just did one.  😀


Responses

  1. Ack. Meant to comment on this last Friday. Whole weekend got shot on other agendas, and I was offline.

    The 2nd paragrph of this is the third time Carlos Castaneda’s shamanistic stories, so popular in the 70s, have recurred for me lately. (Maybe the first memory brought the works close to the surface so it is more available since?)

    Carlos is taught a technique for controlling his dreams — Don Juan tells him to look at his hands while dreaming. This helps Carlos realize he is in a dream, and he can control what happens.

    So I did it. Before going to bed at night I’d tell myself to look at my hand while dreaming. It took a while, but it finally worked and I realized I was dreaming in my dreams, had some control over my dream and thoughts, and could re-direct.

    I don’t often have bad dreams. Mostly I have dreams where I have to problem-solve. People from the past show up in contexts where I never knew them, and things often go wrong …

  2. OB, regarding Castaneda, I find it pretty interesting what comes up in our cerebral Rolodex at what initially seems to be random occurrences. I often wonder that is a part of a brain that we don’t really use trying to assert itself.

    In any case, it appears that the cerebral Rolodex phenomenon is operating on a similar frequency as the dream channel. I too utilize the hands as a focal point, or if it is a reoccurring dream or nightmare, I always have a certain items picked out from those to focus on.

    What I still can’t figure out is why a 10-year-old poem is still hanging around in the soup upstairs. Unfinished business, perhaps?


Leave a Reply

Categories

