Posted by: Nice Melons | March 21, 2008

Today’s mantra: illegitimi non carborundum

I’ve been busting my hump(s) to keep things looking up.  I’m staying active so I can continue to move as my RA progresses.  I’m spending a lot of more time doing meditation and trying to focus my energies in a positive, healing way.  I’ve been going to hear a few choice players in town in concert to get re-energized about music again.  I’m even headed out to LA – yes, LA – to do a lil’ studio work in about a month (I still get a little play)! While I’m there, I’m starting up my voice lessons again, and then I’m stopping in to my friend’s studio to pick up a mandolin he built for me.  He’s held on to it for three years now, waiting for me to get my shit together.   Now I have to pull out the Mel Bay book and learn it. 

Well, I usually head out to My Florist Cafe on Thursdays (hell, they see a lot of me there because they have live acoustic music) because the incredible Ms. Pesce is at the piano.  I have a glass of wine, or share a bottle with friends, and listen, and recharge my musical batteries.  This woman will perform a Chopin Prelude and somehow, perfectly, slide it right into a Eurythmics tune. Fantastic.  She is just out of this world.  Oh, and by the way – she plays nonstop with very few breaks.  It’s total stream-of-consciousness playing.  I’ve never heard anyone quite like her and I have heard and performed with many, many fine pianists.

Last night, I really struggled to make it out.  I was bone-tired from my first full day back at the office and then what I refer to as my Kafkaesque workout.  So I really just wanted to go to bed, but I had made a commitment to myself and that was that. 

I walked in and sat down at the bar, bantering with the bartender as usual.  We’re both such huge wine snobs and he’s got it made with me because when I come in later (near closing) it will be half-price bottles and I’ll buy one to share.  Whatever I don’t finish (I’m a bit of a lightweight), they seal up for me to take home.  Sweet.  I’ve got a bunch of 1/2 bottles of really seriously good reds right now… and a Grenache in particular I like, ooooh!  But I digress… (No!)  (Yes!)

As I waited for my wine, four members from the PSO came in.  They looked right at me, then through me, then walked right by me.  I was flabbergasted.  Two of these people were my neighbors when I was growing up; I babysat their children, for chrissakes.  They have all seen me since I’ve returned – hell, I bailed out the orchestra a number of times over the years by stepping in at the eleventh hour during a performance… and they don’t even have to decency to say hello. 

Well, I stayed.  Since one of these people was the Executive Director, I was going to listen to what they were talking about.  Yeah I know, not good karma.  Well, screw that for now.  I’ll make up for it later.  Management and musicians very rarely mix unless it’s big and money-related so this was going to be interesting… and it was.  So, even though my pride and ego took a beating, information is always an excellent commodity to have… and easy to obtain when people behave like you’re invisible and talk accordingly.  Since I don’t matter to them, they didn’t think twice about talking trash in front of me. 

What am I going to do?  Well, it isn’t exactly world news, so it won’t make it on TV if that is what you’re thinking.  I’m just going to think about how I can use this information to do the most good.  I am not a gossip, and I don’t really enjoy it.  But I really don’t like listening to my friends trashed, so I promise to use my superpowers for good and not evil.  I promise.

…and we now return you to our regularly-scheduled positive path.   😉


Responses

  1. I did the same thing Saturday. There’s a place here I kinda call my home pub called The JP Hops House that hosts live acoustic musicians. I’ve been in a bit of a funk over some bad news and like you said, promised myself I was gonna get out and be around people. The music sucked that night but the being around familiar faces was nice.

    Sorry to hear your old musician buddies snubbed you.

  2. Well, at least the music at My Florist saved the evening for me… but yeah, it’s a little poisonous in this town right now.

    On the other hand, I have made many new positive changes that are already paying off… and the love life is looking up as well, for once! 😉

    Hugs from Phoenix!!!

  3. What’s PSO?
    Wait, I bet it’s Phoenix Symphony Orchestra.
    I love “Kafkaesque workout.”
    I could have much fun with the notion of a hard-working exerciser at a closed door, eternally waiting to pass through, until she finds out …
    But no. Better to be supportive. Remember, in your case, the beetle is able to flip over off its back.
    I don’t think it’s bad karma to listen in to what is given you, though. Remember, hearing through open windows dark secrets not intended for the listener’s ear is the stuff of much great fiction. Any chance they recognized you and don’t care if you relayed their convo or might even use you, hoping you do?

  4. Yep, you got the PSO thing.

    Nah, I think they were just being rude and didn’t think they were being overheard… My Florist is funny that way (acoustically).

    I don’t have a rep for running my mouth (well, not until NOW anyway 😉 ) so I strongly doubt that they’d use me. I am not even on their radar. It’s interesting to think about, though.

    I’m just holding onto the info for now. It is kind of weird to know these things.


Leave a Reply

Categories

