Posted by: Nice Melons | February 8, 2008

A fork in the road?

Well, I haven’t posted in a while.  I’ve kind of reached a fork in the road professionally with the “Clark Kent job,” so I’m trying to make some positive changes in order to extricate myself from the miasma of employment I’ve found myself in.  I guess you could say that I’m currently working on number 5 in the Noble Eightfold Path – “Right Livelihood.”  More on those details later.

I’m not so sure I want to return to performing music full-time again.  While the ideal would be to have an orchestra job, the reality of that actually happening is almost zero.  This has been a hard realization.  If I return to Los Angeles, I’m essentially starting over.  If I really wanted to return to freelancing, though, I’d head to New York.  I have connections in both towns, but… ugh.  The whole thing kind of makes me tired just thinking about it.

About a month ago I started applying for jobs in the private sector.  I’m also seeing a career counselor to determine what else I’m good at besides the French horn.  Over the years, I’ve made my living either with music or by writing.  I have other skills, but I need to talk to someone – hence the career counselor – who can give me an assessment and get me headed in the right direction.  I don’t want to waste time pursuing employment that is not right for me. 

I have an interview today, so I need to get back to that.  It is for an Instructional Design position at Charles Schwab, Inc.  Fingers are crossed… this is something I already know I am good at.

A Fork in the Road


Leave a Reply

Categories

