Posted by: Nice Melons | January 24, 2008

Milestones

Well, I haven’t posted in awhile.  There’s been a lot going on. 

First, I’ve been freaking out about an upcoming milestone tomorrow…  I turn 40.  Yeah, it’s just a number, but for some reason it’s bugging me.  I feel strangely out-of-sync.  I’ve never thought much about birthdays; indeed, my 30th passed with little notice.   So I’ve kind of been reflecting on that these past few weeks instead of posting.  Plus I’ve been talking to a few friends who have already hit that particular milestone and lived to tell the tale, heh heh heh. 

It’s funny how life is.  When you’re a teenager, you think that 40 is old.  When you’re 40, you don’t feel a hell of a lot different than you did as a teenager, or at least I don’t.  That may be because I never married or had kids.  Emotionally I feel a bit more evolved than I did at 16, but some days… well, I’m not so sure.  🙂 

 I was quoted some statistic by a snarky co-worker who said that as a 40-year-old female, I had a better chance of getting struck by lightening twice than getting married.  I did make a comment to the effect that if guys like him were who I had to look forward to, I’d happily stay single. 

I never really thought about getting married.  When you come from a home environment like mine, it’s just not a big priority on your to-do list.   Still, I often wonder about that path I didn’t take and what my life would have been like if I had.  I guess it could still happen, but I think I’m going to be fine either way.

Another milestone was the completion of my custom French horn.  Built by Jim Patterson of Patterson Hornworks, it is a beautiful instrument with a great sound, and it’s oh-so-easy (as far as French horns can be) to play.  I’ll post some pictures later tonight.  I’ve been spending a lot of time getting to know my new horn.  Of course, it’s a bit ironic that I finally got the Ferrari of French horns and I’m up in the air whether or not I want to do it for a living any more…  but music is a huge part my life and I don’t feel whole without it.  I’ve dedicated years of my blood, sweat, and tears to this twisty-metal object, so having the best available means a lot.  I feel like the principal of the New York Philharmonic, even though the only ones who hear me these days are Opie and Chloe… and probably Oreo.  :)~

I’ll be posting again soon… just trying to untangle my psyche (and also my underpants).


Responses

  1. I wish I had come by a little sooner… Happy Belated birthday to a fellow Aquarian, mine is two days before yours. And I feel the same way as you, much younger than my 41 years it states I am on my driver’s license. What’s odd to me though is many people I know who are my age “seem” so much older, in the music they listen to, the way they drive, their hobbies, what they do with their down time and the list could go on.

    On being single at 40… i think you have an amazingly balanced outlook on it. I think many, many people have “grass is greener” syndrome on the subject.

    I envy your new horn and understand your dilemma. I bought a really good guitar, way out of my price range but did it anyway despite only just recently learning and knowing I’ll never earn a living with it. It’s so easy to play compared to the little beginner one I had. Seems as though the only ones who really listen without criticism are my cats, too. When I play in the living room they settle in a favorite spot and close their eyes. At least i like to think they’re listening… soaking in the sounds. Who knows… maybe they just think its white noise. 🙂

    Happy B-day Melongirl. ~jules


Leave a Reply

Categories

