Posted by: Nice Melons | January 1, 2008

Recipes and stuff

Well, I’ve been poked by a number of friends to start sharing my recipes, so I’m going to start a “recipes” portion of the blog and work on my rusty CSS abilities to see if I can get my current theme to roll into tabs.  Cross your fingers.

 Meanwhile, I will post my super-easy Chile Verde recipe, which is from my Aunt Dot.  I like to make it for the New Year, or whenever I like to eat it.  Aunt Dot really outdid herself this year – she made both this AND the traditional Christmas enchiladas, hee hee!

 ANYWAY… This is a recipe for the slow-cooker, or Crock-Pot.  You can totally screw around for at least four hours while it’s cooking.  Granted, you have to put in more ingredients after two hours, but I cook it a minimum of 2 hours before serving.  I found out by accident that if you leave it in the slow-cooker longer, it tastes even better.  Just don’t leave it on for a few days, because it is sooooo good and you will be totally bummed if it gets all dried up.

Auntie Dot’s Chile Verde

3 pounds pork, cut into cubes
4 cups chicken broth
3 small cans (7 ounce) of salsa verde (I use Herdez brand)
4 tomatillos, chopped
1 medium sweet yellow onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon each of cumin, salt, and sugar
2-3 tablespoons oil (for browning the pork)

Cornstarch (mix with water first) as needed, for thickening the sauce

Over medium heat, add oil to a large frying pan or skillet and brown pork (cook quickly on the outside).  Place pork and chicken broth in slow-cooker and cook on low for two hours.

Add the remaining ingredients into the slow-cooker and blend well. Continue to cook on low for another two hours.  Add cornstarch as needed to thicken sauce to the desired consistency – my sauce thickness is similar to chowder. 

I usually serve these in the “wet burro” style – and that’s not a drenched donkey, by the way – you wrap the chili verde in a fresh flour tortilla, place on a plate, and pour sauce over the burro.  Add shredded cheese to melt on top, and presto – it’s dinner!  Heehaw!

You can also serve it in a bowl and chow down.

Enjoy…


Responses

  1. […] well…  maybe a little spicier than the red, but different.  I also like to make a lake of chile verde to dive into.  […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

